Meet Janna – The Jewish Camping Experience

Janna Camp 3

By Janna Zuckerman
Program Manager
The Jewish Camping Experience

Hi! My name is Janna Zuckerman and I am the Program Manager of The Jewish Camping Experience Center at The Associated: Jewish Community Federation of Baltimore.  Attending Jewish camp was a tradition in my family; my grandfather owned a Jewish day camp and overnight camp so I grew up with an appreciation of Jewish camping.  Personally, I attended JCC day camp from pre-k through third grade, when I finally convinced my parents I was old enough to go to NJ-Y Sleep Away Camps.

Growing up in Central New Jersey, I attended public school with very few Jewish classmates; so camp became a sacred place for me to be Jewish. I formed life-long friendships, experienced Kabbalat Shabbat and Havdalah outdoors, celebrated Israeli culture and learned the words to birkat hamazon. When camp season ended, I joined youth groups so I could see my camp friends throughout the year. I admired the leadership of my counselors, and as I got older I followed their footsteps and became an active leader in my synagogue, youth group and local day camp.

The Jewish Camping Experience Center initiative is important to me, because I know first-hand a child’s Jewish identity is strengthened because of Jewish summer camp. I am thrilled to be able to help you and your family in making the life changing decision to provide a Jewish camping experience for your child.

There are many summer camping opportunities for our children, teens and young adults in the Baltimore Jewish community and across North America. I am committed to providing free, personalized camp consultation to families and am dedicated to finding the right camping experience for your child.

I work closely with local camps and conduct on-site visits during the summer to see them in action. I am constantly keeping up with the most innovative programs and activities that are launched. In addition, I work closely with the National Foundation for Jewish Camp office to keep abreast of the latest and cutting-edge camp opportunities.

I look forward to sharing my personal experiences and first-hand knowledge with you and your family. I am excited to meet with you in-person, or speak to you over the phone to answer all of your camping questions! Additionally, I am happy to participate in synagogue and community events to engage with groups or individuals about Jewish camp.

Let me help you find the perfect camp today! E-mail me at jzuckerman@associated.org or give me a call at 410-369-9237 for more information.

Leave a comment

Filed under Camping, Families, Women

Leave a Reply

