United Way: Making My Gift Count

pressman photo

By Alan Pressman

When I moved to Baltimore 10 years ago to work for BGE, I quickly sought opportunities to get involved with the Jewish community and with my company’s civic ventures. I became a Big Brother with Jewish Community Services (JCS), one of The Associated’s agencies, participated in IMPACT  events and happy hours (the young adult division of The Associated) and eventually joined IMPACT’s Young Leadership Council.

At the same time, I volunteered with BGE’s United Way campaign, donating my time toward fundraising efforts as well as my money to support the campaign. I worked on the United Way campaign with senior corporate leaders, giving me an opportunity to collaborate with colleagues that I would not normally interact with on a daily basis.

And through it all, I realized the importance of donating to The Associated through my workplace’s United Way campaign.

My company’s support of United Way is an expression of its corporate values, and I appreciate being part of a professional community that understands its responsibility to the community at large. As a resident of Baltimore City, I see the many needs that United Way helps to address through its campaign and specifically through initiatives like 2-1-1 (a local health and human service hotline available 24/7).

At the same time, the more I have become involved in the Baltimore Jewish community, the more I appreciate the impact of my United Way gift, which I designate to The Associated’s annual campaign. It touches so many lives. Without The Associated’s annual campaign, I would not have been able to make a difference in the life of my “Little;” I would not have developed friendships with other young leaders … and, I might not have met my wife!

I designate my gift to The Associated through the United Way campaign because I think it is the best way to ensure that the needs of the Jewish community are represented and met. It is important to me to participate in my company’s civic efforts and support my Jewish community at the same time. In addition to my designated gift, I give directly to The Associated annual campaign because I believe that it is the most direct way to benefit the community that means so much to me.

Both The Associated and the United Way offer a centralized approach to fundraising, meaning that my single gift makes an impact throughout the community. My charitable donations ensure that the organizations that are providing greatly-needed social services and engagement opportunities can do their work secure in the knowledge that the financial support they need to function will be there.

Consider designating your United Way gift to The Associated this year – #108!

Leave a comment

Filed under Philanthropy, Professionals, Volunteering & Advocacy, Young Adults

Leave a Reply

