What I learned from TGI

By Hanna Fiddle
TGI Fellow 2011-2012

This year, I wanted to get involved and help make a difference in the lives of others.  THE ASSOCIATED’s Teen Giving Initiative (TGI) has been that opportunity for me this year.

TGI is filled with 20 nice and amazing teens who wanted to make a change like I did.  We bonded so much over the year with a lot of fun activities.  We had a blast at the overnight, grew together in the day-long retreat at Pearlstone Conference and Retreat Center, and made so many memories along the way.  This whole program has been a wonderful experience.

In addition, I strengthened my leadership skills.  I feel confident in being able to do such great things on my own now.  Not only was this fun, but we raised a lot of money that we are going to donate to organizations focused on either education, domestic abuse or homelessness.  We raised money through various efforts including letter writing to out-of-town family and friends, a phon-a-thon where we called teens in Baltimore, and two fundraisers.  Our fundraisers were “Make Maggie Moo’s a Mitzvah,” an ice cream event at Maggie Moos and the Krav Mag-Auction.  The Krav Mag-Auction – part Krav Maga class, part Silent Auction – was one of my favorite parts of the program.  I had so much fun in the class getting a workout, and even won a prize at the auction!

I am so proud of what this year’s TGI cohort has accomplished under the leadership of Amy Steinberg.  She was such a wonderful person to have as our guide throughout the year.  While I am sad that our year is almost over, I know that this will not be the end of our actions.  Thanks to TGI, I have realized how important it is to be a leader and how much I love it.  One day, I hope to have my own organization for kids with Tourettes.  I will continue to help others and I hope that everyone else does the same.  It certainly has been amazing!

Learn more about teen programming>>

Leave a comment

Filed under Leadership Development, Teens

Leave a Reply

